UMG-MeDIC

In 2016 the University Medical Center Goettingen started to build a medical data integration center (UMG-MeDIC). UMG-MeDIC is a work group at the Department of Medical Informatics. During the next few years, UMG-MeDIC’s main goal is to implement an inter-facility research data infrastructure that will be a hub between patient care and research. Two central work principles will be applied: ‚Patient First‘ and FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable). On this basis, UMG-MeDIC provides researchers with solutions and services for data integration, data analysis and data exchange, subsequent use of data, and data publication in clinical research.

An innovative patient participation will be gradually made possible. It is the aim of UMG-MeDIC to provide suitable solutions in form of a patient portal, which enables patients to access and manage their own data; e.g. patient-reported outcome, consent management, additional information on disease patterns. UMG-MeDIC heeds local and national data security and data protection regulations. Quality management will be implemented in all operational structures and processes. Data curation will be an essential service of UMG-MeDIC. Practical and data-oriented professional training will be supported by proven technological and methodological procedures.

UMG-MeDIC cooperates closely with the research-oriented work groups at the Department of Medical Informatics, the Department of Medical Statistics, and the eResearch Alliance. UMG-MeDIC consults and supports clinical researchers in collaboration with the GB-IT, GWDG, UMG-Biobank, and other service-oriented computer science facilities.

In context of the federal medical informatics funding program, UMG-MeDIC cooperates with the Hannover Medical School, Heidelberg University Hospital and Medical Faculty, and the German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg (project HiGHmed). Furthermore, UMG-MeDIC networks closely with the work groups of the national steering committee (NSC) of the medical informatics funding program and TMF – Technology, Methods, and Infrastructure for Networked Medical Research. Thus, UMG-MeDIC secures the interoperability, innovation, and quality of the offered services and solutions.

Ansprechpartner
Ulrich Sax
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sax
Telefon:
+49 (0)551-39-61529
Telefax:
+49 (0)551-39-61532
E-Mail:
ulrich.sax@med.uni-goettingen.de
Zusatzinfo:
Werdegang und Publikationen
Sabine Rey
Sabine Rey
Telefon:
+49 (0)551-39-61521
Telefax:
+49 (0)551-39-61532
E-Mail:
sabine.rey@med.uni-goettingen.de

UMG-MeDIC

In 2016 wurde begonnen, für die UMG ein Medizinisches Forschungs-Daten-Integrations-Centrum (UMG-MeDIC) einzurichten. Das MeDIC ist als Arbeitsgruppe im Institut für Medizinische Informatik der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen implementiert. Übergeordnetes Ziel des UMG-MeDIC ist es, in den kommenden Jahren eine standortübergreifende Forschungsdateninfrastruktur zwischen Krankenversorgung und Forschung mit vielen anderen Partnern im Rahmen der MI-Inititative des BMBF aufzubauen. Dies erfolgt nach zwei Prinzipien: ‚Patient First‘ und FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable). Auf dieser Basis sollen für Forscher Lösungen und Services im Hinblick auf Datenintegration, Datenanalyse und -austausch, Nachnutzung von Daten und Datenpublikation in der klinischen Forschung zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Schrittweise strebt das UMG-MeDIC eine innovative Patienten-Partizipation an. Ziel ist es, geeignete Lösungen in Form eines Patientenportals bereitzustellen, welches den Patienten Zugriff auf die eigenen Daten und deren Vervollständigung ermöglicht (‚Patient Reported Outcome‘, Einwilligungserklärungen verwalten, zusätzliche Informationen zum Krankheitsbild finden). Das UMG-MeDIC berücksichtigt dabei lokale und nationale Vorgaben bezüglich Datensicherheit und Datenschutz. Es werden qualitätssichernde Strukturen und Prozesse implementiert. Datenkuration wird hierbei ein zentraler Service des UMG-MeDIC sein. Praxisbezogene, datenorientierte Aus- und Weiterbildung soll durch erprobte technologische und methodologische Verfahren unterstützt werden.

Das MeDIC kooperiert eng mit den forschungsorientierten Arbeitsgruppen des Instituts für Medizinische Informatik, der Medizinische Statistik und der eResearch Allianz. Das MeDIC berät und unterstützt die klinischen Forscher in Zusammenarbeit mit dem GB-IT, der GWDG, der UMG-Biobank und anderen serviceorientierten Informatikeinrichtungen.

Im Rahmen der bundesweit geförderten Medizininformatik-Initiative bestehen enge Kooperationen mit der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover, dem Universitätsklinikum und der medizinischen Fakultät Heidelberg sowie dem Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum Heidelberg (Projekt HiGHmed). Darüber hinaus ist das MeDIC eng vernetzt mit den Arbeitsgruppen des Nationalen Steuerungsgremiums (NSG) der Medizininformatik-Initiative und der Technologie– und Methodenplattform für die vernetzte Forschung e.V. (TMF) um die Interoperabilität, Innovation und Qualität der angebotenen Services und Lösungen zu sichern.

Ansprechpartner
Ulrich Sax
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sax
Telefon:
+49 (0)551-39-61529
Telefax:
+49 (0)551-39-61532
E-Mail:
ulrich.sax@med.uni-goettingen.de
Zusatzinfo:
Werdegang und Publikationen
Sabine Rey
Sabine Rey
Telefon:
+49 (0)551-39-61521
Telefax:
+49 (0)551-39-61532
E-Mail:
sabine.rey@med.uni-goettingen.de